Tags

, , ,

20120702-235100.jpg

Hey Guys,

Tonight’s chicken salad was a bit different, and I thought I’d share the yummy dish with all of you!

First off: Stater Brothers is offering boneless skinless chicken breasts at $1.99 lb this week! They’re huge FYI… So I grabbed some along with lots of veggies and a roar for later this week. We went to Havasu for the weekend, and the Fourth of July is around the corner, so I made sure to keep the groceries pretty healthy:)

Once I got home I put things away, and did some creative pairing. I thought I was going to end up making my chicken Caesar salad, but ended up making my own dressing and adding some bell peppers for color! Here’s what you’ll need:

Ingredients:

-2 chicken breasts cut into 1″ cubes
-1 large bell pepper
-3 tbs EVOO
-1 handful fat free croutons
-1 large bunch romaine lettuce chopped
-1 tsp Red chili flakes
-Salt and pepper
-1 packet of Dry chicken rub (I tried the ones in the butcher section by the chicken, & it was really good!)
-2 tbs white wine vinegar
-Fresh grated parmesan

Directions

•Preheat the oven to 350
•Get out a large roasting pan (line it with aluminum foil for easy clean up)
•Add the chicken to the pan and drizzle in EVOO and dry rub. Toss.
•Bake for 20-25 min.
*Add the bell peppers half way through and turn the chicken over.
•Get out a large salad bowl and a mixing bowl
•In the mixing bowl, add chili flakes, 2tbs EVOO, 2 tbs white wine vinegar, salt, pepper, & 1 Splenda packet or 1 tsp agave. Then mix
•When the chicken is done, add the drippings to the salad mix base and whisk until combined.
•Add chicken, bell peppers, lettuce and croutons to bowl.
•Add dressing and toss.
•Garnish with the shaved cheese and serve!

Yummy, healthy, and easy! Have fun with your salads by adding new seasoning combinations, or veggie options for a new dish that you can repeat again and again!

Hope you all have a great week! Looking forward to the short work week an seeing a great light show Wednesday! More ideas tomorrow!

Lots of Love,

Mrs. B

