Tags

, , ,

20120603-214414.jpg

Hey Everyone,

We had a great “entertaining evening” dinner over at the house tonight. I’ll post the full dinner in a few, but I wanted to share my twist on a new recipe that I served…

It’s a quiche, but I went off recipe like I usually do (to make it my own) and the reactions were great so I had to share:)

Here’s what you’ll need:

•1 bushel of thin asparagus (sliced diagonally every 1″
•2-4 shallots quartered
•Herbs de Provence (I got some at the Spice Market when we were in Seattle, but you can pick up the ingredients from any specialty store)
•6 eggs
•Heavy whipping cream (just a splash bc it’s not the healthiest;D)
•Salt and pepper to taste
•2 diced small sweet peppers or jalapeños would work
•EVOO
•Fresh minced garlic 2tsp
•1 graham cracker crust (pre made)

-Preheat the oven to 425
-In a bowl, toss the asparagus and shallots with EVOO and herbs.
-Lay the mixture on a roasting pan and cook for 12-15minutes until shallots start to brown
-Get out a large skillet and add a bit more EVOO. Heat on medium
-Sauté the garlic and peppers for 3-5 minutes
-Remove the asparagus and lower the oven to 350
-Add the asparagus and shallots to the skillet and sauté another 3-5 minutes
-In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and cream
-Place pie crust on baking pan
-Pour veggie mixture in the pie crust
-Pour the egg mixture on top but be careful not to over pour…
-Bake for 20-30 minutes until the center stops jiggling

Let quiche cool for about 20 minutes before serving at room temp.

You can make it early before guests arrive. Serves 8 single slices, but you may want to make a second if there are more men because they won’t want just one 😉

Hope you enjoy! It’s definitely one I’ll be making again!

Lots of Love,
Mrs.B

-Add salt and pepper to taste

