Tags

, , ,

Hey Everyone,

What a day! Brett and I both got an early start so he could play golf with the boys and I could meet Donna (my mother in law) for spin class @24hr fitness. He scored well and had a good time and I really enjoyed the instructor that teaches Saturday at the Warner and Springdale location in HB. She had a good variety and really focused on isolation movements for the tush:)

Afterwards I headed to Home Depot for the third time for paint samples…lol. We finally got the one we wanted! I’m excited to get the house started this Wednesday… It’s going to make a huge difference! We currently have a ranch house with a faded brown exterior and non of the finishes like trim or shutters that our neighbors do. Did I mention the steel front door? Lol. We can’t wait to see how things will turn out!

After I put the samples up I made a picnic lunch for us to take. Here’s what I made:
Turkey sandwiches on squaw bread with light mayo, mustard, ground pepper and arugula. I also put some string cheese since that’s what was in the fridge and added sprouts to mine too. *Toasting the bread helped keep the sandwiches together:)
A lentil and roasted corn salad: so easy! I get frozen roasted corn that I defrost in the micro, and already cooked lentils from Trader Joes. Then i just added 1 diced tomato, and a simple dressing with equal parts balsic vinaigrette, EVOO, and lemon juice. Toss with salt and pepper and you’re good to go! I packed 2 waters and 2 apples also…

A couple of weeks ago I saw a Groupon for paddle board lessons and snagged it! We have been meaning to try it and this was the perfect opportunity. SUP Company has a great location and staff off PCH in Laguna Beach. After lunch and a nap on the beach we headed over and had a great time! If you’re just learning though I’d suggest going in HB Harbor first where the water is calmer until you get the hang of things..(I spent a lot of time on my knees or falling over when the water got choppy) lol. Brett however did great because he grew up surfing. We even stayed out for almost twice as long because we were the instructors last appointment. I’d definitely recommend them if you live in the area. Just make sure you book an 11am time where the water is calm:)

Afterwards we got home, played with Calie an went to dinner at 25 Degrees in HB. They just got a new manager and some new menu items I couldn’t wait to try! The Cucumber Martini was very refreshing and I love their new shaved veggie salad and prochuitto wrapped asparagus. They serve it with an arugula side salad and an over easy egg. Very creative and tasty!

Another couple we are friends with came by for a drink and I surprised Brett with his second gift.., in 2 weeks the 4 of us are heading to Joshua Tree to go rock climbing and I can’t wait!

Like I said, what a day! I love Groupon deals and we has a great time:) I hope you did also!

Happy Mothers Day to all of the amazing mothers out there! I hope you all have a special and memorable day with loved ones:)

Lots of Love,
Mrs. B

20120513-140917.jpg

20120513-140938.jpg

20120513-140951.jpg

20120513-141001.jpg

20120513-141022.jpg

20120513-141045.jpg

20120513-141054.jpg

20120513-141105.jpg

20120513-141752.jpg

20120513-141800.jpg

