Tags

, , , ,

20120124-210600.jpg

Hey Guys,

It’s been a few days so I thought I’d work on some food posts. The half marathon is only a couple of weeks away and training has been rough so I’ve had to watch my food intake a bit more then usual. Tonight I wanted something quick so I searched around the fridge and freezer to see what I could find. Here’s what I grabbed:

Fridge:
•baby carrots
•bella mushrooms
•minced garlic
•fresh basil
•minced shallots
•shredded Parmesan or mozarella cheese

Freezer:
•broccoli
•sweet corn
•turkey meatballs

I’m all for making meatballs from scratch, but when you don’t have time (or breadcrumbs) there are some frozen options that can do the job.

Directions:
Set the oven to 350 and bake meatballs for 25 minutes until browned

In a large skillet, heat about 3tsp of EVOO and 2tsp of minced garlic for 2min. Add shallots and mushrooms. Inc the mushrooms start to brown, add corn, broccoli, chopped carrots, basil, salt&pepper, and a sprinkling of chili powder. Combine ingredients and let simmer for 5-6 minutes until the frozen veggies are warm. You can add a splash of broth or water if need be.

Scoop veggies into bowl and top with the cooked meatballs. (if you like heavier seasoning, add a bit more pepper and chili pepper)
Sprinkle some cheese and enjoy!!!

Lots of Love,
Mrs. B

