After much consideration, and outwardly disagreement for a while on my part, Brett and I feel we are now ready and prepared to bring a puppy into our lives together. There were many concerns on my part and some on his, why a puppy would not be a good idea for us right now. Here were some of my concerns:

  • Time: Yes, we (me) are home more often working now and can check on the puppy, but training the puppy can take hours of time a day and is a huge commitment that can take away from our other hobbies and obligations.
  • House Training: This would be a must as we both want the dog to be able to be inside. We need to research what approach, boundaries, etc. before hand
  • Vacation: We are going to Spain for 10 days in April. Who is going to watch the dog?
  • Obedience School: Where? How much? How often?
  • Vet: We don’t have one. We need to have one and a puppy program in place.
  • Yard: Fence issues… We need to fix the fence, but it’s expensive and neither one of us are terrible knowledgeable in this area
  • Shedding: We have a 4 bedroom house that’s hard enough to keep up with, now we add dog hair? At least we have hardwood I guess
  • Breed: Brett and I for the most part, don’t have the same taste in breeds. He wants a dog that “looks cool” and I want a family dog with a good personality that’s easily trainable and more of a companion dog.

I’ll admit that some of these concerns are minimal, but some aren’t. It’s a huge decision and time commitment and a financial responsibility too.. are we ready? Should we wait? I decided to do what I usually do in these circumstances… lay out every scenario I could think of, come up with a solution, and weight the pro’s and cons. Once my mind is made up, heaven and earth couldn’t change it, so I had to be sure we could do it. 

Have you ever watched Dogs 101 on Animal Planet? I started taping the show and we found it really helpful. Then we went online and started with quizzes to see what dogs we were compatible with based off of our lifestyles lol. we researched the breeds that came up in our results. Next, Brett and I wrote down our favorite breeds and watched videos for them on Animalplanet.com We learned stuff I didn’t even know about the breeds and I was a dog encyclopedia when I was younger lol…

The Commitment: Most of the reasons why I didn’t want to move forward with a dog is the commitment that it takes to have the dog and to do things properly. I wouldn’t even look at dogs on the TV with Brett because I didn’t want to get attached to something I couldn’t commit to. I needed to know we would take whatever means necessary to ensure the puppy is happy and well taught. Since I know I’ll probably spend the majority of the time with “her” I needed to make a commitment to myself that I would take time for myself also…

The result: There are solutions to every fear I/we have about having a dog. Everything can be taken care of. Yes, most of the solutions would call for more money, time, effort of some sort, but we both grew up with dogs and this is the first time I have been without one. Thus, the answers to my worries:

  • Time: Yes, we (me) are home more often working now and can check on the puppy, but training the puppy can take hours of time a day and is a huge commitment that can take away from our other hobbies and obligations. A: We have time, and can alternate if needed once we come up with a training style. Classes are necessary and we commit to obedience training
  • House Training: This would be a must as we both want the dog to be able to be inside. We need to research what approach, boundaries, etc. before hand. Petsmart and other local stores offer 4-8wk obedience classes that are pretty reasonable. Ican teach a dog tricks, but it’s been a while and important for both of us to learn the same commands.
  • Vacation: We are going to Spain for 10 days in April. Who is going to watch the dog? We will have to make arrangements for puppy sitting or for the puppy to ideally stay with the breeder.
  • Obedience School: Where? How much? How often? Again, Petsmart
  • Vet: We don’t have one. We need to have one and a puppy program in place. There are some around. Banfield is a vet inside some
    Petsmarts. I used to take my dog there and they offer a 1 year puppy plan that covers pretty much everything they need including the spay/neuter for about $30 a month.

  • Yard: Fence issues… We need to fix the fence, but it’s expensive and neither one of us are terrible knowledgeable in this area. We handle it when it comes
  • Shedding: We have a 4 bedroom house that’s hard enough to keep up with, now we add dog hair? At least we have hardwood I guess… Depends on the breed. We will have to clean and vacuum more, which is fine.
  • Breed: Brett and I for the most part, don’t have the same taste in breeds. He wants a dog that “looks cool” and I want a family dog with a good personality that’s easily trainable and more of a companion dog. We used the quizzes and videos to help us come up with a decision: The Golden Retriever!

Finding the breeder was pretty easy. We wanted a registered puppy with decent pedigree so we didn’t have to be concerned with things like inbreeding, major health concerns, giant goldens and bite/behavior issue history. We found a family breeder in Huntington Beach, very close to us, who had 4 week old pups, the mother, and grandmother on the property. The mother was a doll, the price is reasonable, and so… we wait! The puppies will be ready 12/12 and we have the 4th pick female out of 5. I am hoping no one pics the one I have had my eye on but who knows. They were all adorable and we would be happy with any of them. Here are some photos so you can start getting as attached as I am:)


